• 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Blue and red noise points!

Question
#1 lovaj
Hello folks!

I am an italian guy so sorry for my BAD english! As first thing, I'd like make you understand that I am a noob with the Time Lapse technique, and my photo equipment is very poor: an old Canon EOS 500d with a 18-55mm f3.5-5.6.

However, I shot this sequence some nights ago, with these settings:
Exposure time: 60 sec
ISO: 800
Diafram: I don't rember, but I think something like 4.0

[Video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Aqsjr1pij_w]

Now, I don't really understand why there are these red and blue dots all around the image! On the original video they are very very easy to see, but on the video that I uploaded on YouTube you can see them a little bit on the bottom left corner (in the black zone of the sea).

I know that there is a lot of noise in ALL the picture (damned old camera XD), but those points are something different from the common noise effects!

Can you help me? Smile I wish to thank everyone that will answer to this thread and that will try to help me, thank you!
#2 Gunther
Sounds like dead pixels. -> Common Sensor problem, especially on older cameras.
Subscribe to: LRTimelapse Newsletter, Youtube Channel, Instagram, Facebook.
#3 lovaj
Like I wrote on the initial (updated with video) post, you can see them a little on the bottom left corner! Do you think that they are caused by the problem that you described in your anwer? However thank you so much! Smile
#4 rcmagraw
One other thing you could try is cleaning the image sensor. A lot of camera's have a built in menu item just for that. Also, another thing you can try is taking a long exposure of an area that is black (You could use a black piece of construction paper.) This in theory is supposed to clean up any artificating left behind on the camera's image sensor.

Hope this helps!
#5 Rowan