• 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Holy Grail transition issues

#1 darylk
Hi,

I'm quite new to LRTimelapse and I've been learning how to use the Holy Grail Wizard properly. I know it's quite self explanatory and intuitive as a wizard (great job on the software!) but I have an issue I can't seem to resolve.

Here's the clip in question: https://vimeo.com/78803761

Basically the problem is that when I use the wizard to match the exposures, and I look at the 2 and 3 star keyframes in Lightroom, the general exposure seems to look close enough, but in the clip I've linked, the sky seems to 'flicker' or change colour where I've adjusted the exposure on camera. The exposure seems to have matched quite well like I said, with the sand in that video generally looking like it's the same dark/brightness, but the sky is a different colour. And you can also see that from about 0:18 onwards, the sun alternates between flaring and showing as a smaller ball of flame. I took care not to overexpose the highlights, but I'm just not sure how to adjust between the 2 and 3 star keyframes. Am I supposed to adjust the sliders in lightroom (apart from exposure) to match these? But then wouldn't using 4 star keyframes afterwards alter the changes I've made to it?

I'm not sure that using the colour (4 star) keyframes will help because the issue seems to be the way the camera perceives colour at different exposure settings. So even when a transition is "smoothened" between 4 star keyframes, the parts where the 2 and 3 star keyframes will still show a difference and hence cause the "flicker" or different colours.

I hope I've been making sense, thanks in advance for any replies!

- Daryl
#2 Gunther
Hi Daryl,
I think a manual fine tuning of the 2*/3* adjustments in LR would improve the sequence. The automatic matching works good, but sometimes like in your sequence, it's not 100% accurate. This is not a weakness of LRTimelapse, this happens with "Match Total Exposure" in Lightroom as well.