• 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Just finished reading your eBook--I have a few long worded questions

#1 bbkupko
Gunther,

The eBook is awesome and insightful and has everything plus more than I was hoping for. Thanks for producing it and LRT Wink

I do have a few questions that I'm still a bit confused about however.

1) SHOOTING TIPS :
I am most intrigued about the wide open aperture concept. It sounds like there are obviously some great advantages, but it goes against everything I have ever learned about with lenses ( my background is 15 years dealing with motion picture and HD "High End" $100K camera systems and lenses)

A) ALL LENSES --All of them Film or Stills have a sweet spot that is NEVER wide open. ALL LENSES look there worst wide open, so is that just a given is a compromise that you accept and deal with? Also I have shot a lot of TL and have never shot wide open? Even for shooting the stars I usually shoot @ around a F3.5-F4 range--even a F5.6. I have put a bit of stop on the lens for focus only. Just to give the stars a bit more of tack sharpness. I'm sure you know of the trick with any lens where you can look at a subject and purposely rack the lens extremely out of focus , but then stop the lens down to a 16 or 22 and see that the image now is a lot sharper ( it's just a point to show you how a stopped down lens effects focus / DoF. Like I said I'm very intrigued w/ your method and plan on trying it out.
What method do you use to ensure over all good focus. Do you just rack to infinity?

B) Do you just rack the lens to a measured out distance to to your subject ( say if your foreground subject is 15 feet do you just set the lens to 15' or just go with infinity?) Stills lenses are not like cine lenses --as in there are no datum lines for specific distances, so you never real know where that 15' is.

2) REFERENCE AREA: