• 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Night-time deflickering/compression

Sad
#1 sammyj
Hi all

My first time posting on here, I'm new to timelapse and finding it both enjoyable (at times) and frustrating (quite a lot of the time at the moment, when processing!). I'm trying to make a timelapse that goes from night to day and day to night, and getting great results from the day parts but any parts that have really dark sky I'm not able to make look good. Please see these two examples on Vimeo:

https://vimeo.com/50377982
https://vimeo.com/50377981

Password is: ihateflicker

Ultimately I want to create a longer piece which contains several different segments, which I'm trying to put together in Premiere.

As you can see the night to day one has some banding in the sky. I guess this is more of a compression issue than deflickering, but still I can't seem to make it go away, even when exporting from Premiere with Animation (Lossless) and then encoding with MPEG Streamclip to ProRes 422, or any of the other high quality (and therefore large file) codecs. H264 is worse as you can imagine.

The day to night one is more of a headache though - it has horrible flickery banding in the sky. I've tried everything I can think of or have read about - I've done Gunther's two pass workflow (thanks for the software and the book & web resources Gunther, it is all brilliant), and also tried putting the .mov into After Effects after it's exported from Lightroom and using GBDeflicker on it, which maybe makes a slight difference but nothing significant. The first time I tried I noticed there was a fair bit of highlight clipping, which is apparently a big problem for GBDeflicker, and presumably LRTimelapse too, so I re-edited the Raw files with super low contrast and lots of Highlight Recovery, then applied the deflickering and then re-applied contrast in Premiere - still no major improvement.