• 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Holy Grail Workflow...Keyframe Types/Uses

#11 DonCristobal
(2013-01-31, 23:27)adamchicago Wrote: Awesome...I'll give that a trySmile

I'm assuming you don't increase the ISO until the shutter duration comes close to the interval time. I'll have to find out using a Canon 5D2 how to change ISO quickly during a timelapse sequence...shutter is easy.

Hi,
for what it's worth, I studied this question for the 5d3 a few days ago and found out that the easiest way is using the custom function menu to put iso on the lower wheel, and changing iso increments from the usual 1/3 to 1/1. This way I only need to move the lower wheel once, much easier than the default setting - Iso menu and then three steps to the left/right (which was pretty much undoable for me in the 2.5sec interval, because the camera would also switch into the metering screen for the next shot before i was done adjusting the iso). Not sure if this is applicable for the 5d2 though.

Chris
#12 adamchicago
Thank you very much...I haven't gotten into the custom functions yet but will now.
#13 adamchicago
Well it appears the 5D2 does not allow you to assign the ISO to a dial or button, however with some practice you can pretty easily hit the ISO button and turn the dial to the next highest setting within a 3 second interval...maybe a 2 second interval.
#14 adamchicago
Does anyone know on a 5D2 how to change the shutter and ISO settings on the fly during an active timelapse sequence?

I tested this over the weekend and was able to change the shutterspeed 90% of the time and never the ISO during a timelapse. Outside of an active timelapse it's no problem to quickly make these changes but for some reason, and probably due to limited processor resources while exposing images, it just won't let me make the necessary changes for a holy grail sequence.
#15 Gunther