• 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Shooting interval question

Exclamation
#1 CRobert145
Hello guys,

First of all, I'm sorry if this question has been asked before - can't really find a related thread right now.
I've been practicing timelapses for a couple of months and recently released my very first short film in the Alps.
One thing I got really frustrated about even now after two years is that I sometimes cannot shoot with a 1 second interval. If I use 2 - 3 seconds interval, it works fine.
I mean... I set the intervalometer at 1 second and after a couple of shots (or whenever the camera wants) it starts shooting at a 5 - 6 seconds interval - also showing "BUSY" on the camera screen.
Is this because of the SD card? The intervalometer? Do I need a higher speed memory card or better intervalometer? If so... what brand do you guys use to get 1s interval?
I used low speed and then upgraded to 80 Mb/s speed memory cards but it doesn't seem to do the trick.
I am really frustrated about this because I can't seem to get that smooth looking motion when using 2 - 3 seconds intervals at really fast moving clouds.
Please help! Sad

Kind regards,
Robert
#2 rodrigo
Hi Robert, 

What camera are you using?, don't forget that the camera needs time to write to the card, therefore the card has to be an Ultra fast card to be able to write to it, there are cards like the SanDisk 64GB Extreme Pro 280MB/s SDXC UHS-II, or SanDisk 64GB Extreme Pro (515MB/Sec) CFast 2.0 Memory Card
Also another factor to consider is the buffer on your camera, that is the number of photos that the camera can stored in memory before it write to the card.
Another way would be to just take a film of the subject and speed it up in post production.

regards,

Rodrigo
#3 CRobert145
Hello Rodrigo,

Thank you for your reply.

I am using a Canon 6D.
I think I kind of understood the idea - just checked this link: http://www.cameramemoryspeed.com/canon-6...omparison/