• 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Stage One + NMX + Sony A7Rii + QDslrDashboard + LRTimelapse = Need some help!

#1 Dominic
Hi guys,

Can I get some help please. I’m a pro photographer, been shooting the odd time lapses for a few years now and recently upgraded this kit to what I was hoping was a ‘holy grail’ setup (pun intended!).

I can get the stage one + nmx + Sony A7Rii running fine.
I can get the Sony A7Rii + QDslrDashboard + LRTimalapse running fine.
But as soon I try combining both systems I run into problems.

I have QDSLRDASHBOARD and the NMX apps on both an iPad and iPhone running iOS 11.

I’ve setup the NMX in Slave mode and disconnect the usb cable connecting to the camera and added a pc sync cable from the NMX aux port to (possibly the issue) pocket wizard FlexxTT5 pc sync port (can test fire from the pocket wizard and I get the two green lights on the nmx but does do anything via QDslrDashboard). Tried using a Nissin Di700a Sony flash sync port which also sends a test pulse and work.  But from QDslrDashboard it only works when I have the flash in TTL mode and it then triggers the flash as well (not wanted). 

The second issue is if I have both the NMX app and QDslrDashboard running they pause if I switch apps !!!

So my questions are, firstly am I using the right setup for shooting ‘holy grail’ (I know for normal Tim lapse I don’t need the QDslrDashboard)?

Is there an issue with the apps on iOS 11?

I’m on a live shoot in Miami this next couple of weeks and have spent the last weeks trying to sort this out but not managed to. This forum seems pretty activate so I’m hoping someone can help me, please. 

Dominic
#2 Gunther
Why do you use the slave approach? Ich not absolutely necessary I'd not use qDDB for triggering the camera. It would be best to use the NMX controller to trigger the camera and have qDDB only adjusting the settings.