• 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Synchronization between Slider One with NMX and qDslrDashboard

#1 josemabcn
Hi,

Greetings to all members of this forum.

I'm new in time lapses, and I'm planning to buy a Stage One slider with NMX controller and use the qDslrDashboard as advanced intervalometer. Reading the post about this question and the Gunther tutorial (“True Holy Grail” – 3-way auto ramping for time lapse transitions) I think that there is two possibilities:

1. The camera trigger the slider through camera flash sync port. But in this case the slider can starts the motion with the camera shutter open. Then I need to configure a delay in the slider. But in a day to nicght transition, on day the shutter can be open msec or a few seconds, but at nicght the shutter can be open 30 seconds (for a adequate stars or Milky Way capture). Then this delay is not the same...
  2. The slider control the camera shutter release and qDslrDashboard only control the shutter speed and ISO, and wait to a new picture from the camera.

What is the better solution?, I think that the second one, but then how can configure this option in qDslrDashboard ?.

Thanks,

Jose
#2 Gunther
1) you can always set the delay to the end of the interval, so if you are not ramping the interval it does not matter. Apart from that, I find that even moving the slider during exposure is fine, the maximum you get is a bit of motion blur in the foreground if you have a system that's stable. The motion blur is not a bad effect at all.
2) is okay as well, but won't work with the scenario I described in the "true holy grail" tutorial, because you won't be able to trigger the camera externally anymore, once it's in that liveview/aperture lock state. But this certainly depends from your camera.
Subscribe to: LRTimelapse Newsletter, Youtube Channel, Instagram, Facebook.
#3 josemabcn