LRTimelapse Forum

Full Version: Slider or Pan/Tilt as first motion control device?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I’ve been creating static time lapse videos for a few years and would like to add motion control. I hope to eventually create 3 axis videos using a slider and a pan/tilt head but I would like to start slow and purchase just one item first. I have seen wonderful single motion videos using a slider (i.e., DP Stage 1). I have also seen great videos using a pan/tilt system (i.e., eMotimo TB3).

I am looking for advice, what would be the easiest way to enter the world of motion control. I am overwhelmed with the choices. The limiting factor is NOT money, it is mobility. I do everything myself so size and weight is my most important consideration.

I shoot with a Canon 5D M2 and M3 in case that matters. I shoot outdoor astro and landscape time lapse.

Slider or Pan/Tilt as first motion control device?

Rich
I would start with a slider, it gives the more impressive effect to start with.
I agree - start with a Slider/Dolly and keep in Mind that you'll update with pan-tilt. Really a lot of products out there but be careful with homemade products. If money is not the first matter, give Dynamic perception a try. Lightweight, transportable, expandable and great in combination with the Emotimo later.
I would also start with a slider with an MX2, you can then add the TB3 later and still use the MX2 for focusing & zoom.
Hi richparry,
If mobility is the limiting factor, a panhead is the winner for sure, but i guess you know that.

Generally, i would say there is 1 fundamental difference between slider and panhead: