LRTimelapse Forum

Full Version: First HG Shoot today...
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I am fairly new to TL and LRTimelapse, so I wanted to pose a question about a shoot I plan to do today. I am going to photograph a sequence from a bridge that overlooks the city, river, and football stadium. I want to do a sequence today from before and through sunset with the stadium and its lights.

I am excited about LRTimelapse and how easy it will make the editing. I don't have a USB OTG cable yet, so I will have to manually change the settings. I shoot with a d800 and plan to shoot in manual mode. The thought would be to adjust the shutter and the iso as needed. I would initially thought to shoot every 5 seconds, but worry about being able to adjust things that quickly. Should I go to 10 seconds? I plan to shoot for a 2 hour period of time. Sunset is at 4:33, so I was going to start roughly at 3:30 and go til 5:15 or 5:30.

So, here are my questions about shooting:

1. start in lowest iso, correct?
2. raise it 2 steps at a time?
3. Is it better to reduce the shutter than iso? I would think so.
4. Any idea how much adjustments I would need to make during such a shoot?
5. What other items should I be thinking about for such a shoot?

Thanks in advance! And thanks to Gunter, I am very impressed with the software, his level of support and education for the community!

David Morel
try 6 seconds interval, should give you enough time
Quote:1. start in lowest iso, correct?
yes
Quote:2. raise it 2 steps at a time?
try 2 clicks (2/3 stops) at a time

Quote:Is it better to reduce the shutter than iso? I would think so.
Start with shutter, until you reach 3 seconds, then you still have 3 seconds for adjusting. Then raise the ISO.

Quote:4. Any idea how much adjustments I would need to make during such a shoot?
It depends - you will see... ;-)