LRTimelapse Forum

Full Version: Milky Way Processing--Very Elementary Questions
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I am brand new to producing timelapse footage, and I am very excited about it. I have watched as many tutorials as I can, and I've read the e-book.

I have searched the forum, but I haven't found anything relating to this... Once I have all of my night time or milky way shots uploaded, I have a preset in LightRoom that helps me edit the night sky photos and really make the milky way pop. When I go to edit keyframes, can I use these presets to edit my key frames, or is there a better way to do this? These presets result in a dramatically different image than the unedited image, so I'm not sure what the best way(s) to edit milky way images for a timelapse is.

Is there a good explanation of the best way to process milky way images for use in a timelapse video? I absolutely love the milky way videos, and I've been into astrophotography for a few years now.
Regarding existant presets, please see here: http://forum.lrtimelapse.com/Thread-may-...-lightroom

I'd suggest you learn editing the milky way on your own in Lightroom. I once made a screencase video where I showed it, but it's in German. Maybe you can figure out nevertheless:
http://gwegner.de/know-how/lightroom-tip...chstrasse/
Thank you for the reply. I look forward to getting out and creating something beautiful.
Hey Gunther,

I noticed you were shooting a nikon D7000 with an iso of 6400. From my experience I've always tried avoiding such a high iso with that camera because it introduces to much noise into the photograph.

Quick question for you - have you shot the milky way as a timelapse with that camera and settings? And if so, was the final shot production quality?

Cheers!