LRTimelapse Forum

Full Version: Sony Alpha RAW and AWB
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I've been shooting time lapse with my Sony Alpha 77 now for three years. Wow, time does fly! During that period, I've occasionally had issues with dark areas of an image: when I lift these using the shadows control in LR I sometimes see different and random hues in that area of the image on each frame in a sequence. This results in a very noticeable colour flicker, and because it doesn't affect overall brightness it can't be corrected using LRT's visual deflicker (which is to be expected, of course).

I have never found a way to correct this problem, and I usually end up keeping the shadows almost black in order to avoid the effect becoming visible. Sometimes I even use one of the grad filters to desaturate that part of the image, where possible. Of course the best solution would be to shoot with enough exposure to avoid the black end of the histogram... but of course, often that's not practical because there is bright sky in the shot and I'm trying to avoid blown highlights.

Then, today, I was watching some time lapse shooting advice (from Ian Norman at Lonely Speck - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ir7gBv7FRcs ), and noticed that Ian (who is using a Sony a6000, I think) advises to set white balance to something other than AWB. I suddenly wondered whether this was the problem! I had never thought about it before, because I always shoot RAW, so I assumed that AWB would not affect the images. However, I can imagine that perhaps there is some sort of 'compensatory' data value stored alongside the raw data, which LR may use to correct the colours on each shot, despite having RAW files. This seems unlikely, but it's one possible explanation.