LRTimelapse Forum
Power bank issue - Printable Version

+- LRTimelapse Forum (https://forum.lrtimelapse.com)
+-- Forum: Time Lapse Shooting (https://forum.lrtimelapse.com/Forum-time-lapse-shooting)
+--- Forum: Time lapse shooting, Intervalometers, Motion Control Hardware (https://forum.lrtimelapse.com/Forum-time-lapse-shooting-intervalometers-motion-control-hardware)
+--- Thread: Power bank issue (/Thread-power-bank-issue)

Pages: 1 2 3

Power bank issue - roy.davis - 2021-05-11

Newbie here. After reading through these threads, I'm still not sure what I need to make this work....

I was shooting a holy grail timelapse last weekend and the camera kept shutting off after 15 min or so with message saying the battery was dead. I'm using a dummy battery connected to a power bank. I also had a lens heater plugged into to the other usb port.

Canon R5, 14 mm 1.8 Sigma Art
Power Bank: XT Power (XT-20000QC3)
QC3.0 port: Dummy battery with ONsite Relay (Model CRUPS110) from Tether Tools
5V/2.1A port: Lens heater

I wasn't using a QCP stick at the time, but I have one now. Even so, when I connect my camera to the power bank via QCP stick, and then plug in the lens heater in the other port, the camera shuts off.

Any suggestions would be great.

RE: Power bank issue - Sheeba - 2021-05-11

Hi Roy,
I am the developer of the QCCP-Stick.

The problem with the case relay is well known.

On the XT Powerbank you cannot connect the QCCP-Stick (QC3.0) to a USB-A port and a lens heater to the 2nd USB-A port at the same time. The power at the USB-A ports is limited to a total of 18W. If the QCCP stick is connected to a port (9V / 2A), the entire power is already used. If another device is now connected to the 2nd USB port, the power bank switches back to 5V and the camera switches off. But there is a solution. Connect the QCCP-Stick to the USB-C port via a USB-OTG adapter and the lens heater to a USB-A port and it works.

Where did you buy the QCCP-Stick?

Regards,
Hans