LRTimelapse Forum
Which development tools can I safely use in Lightroom / ACR? - Printable Version

+- LRTimelapse Forum (https://forum.lrtimelapse.com)
+-- Forum: LRTimelapse 5 (https://forum.lrtimelapse.com/Forum-lrtimelapse-5)
+--- Forum: Frequently Asked Questions (https://forum.lrtimelapse.com/Forum-frequently-asked-questions)
+--- Thread: Which development tools can I safely use in Lightroom / ACR? (/Thread-which-development-tools-can-i-safely-use-in-lightroom-acr)

Pages: 1 2


Which development tools can I safely use in Lightroom / ACR? - gwegner - 2013-06-11

Nearly all tools of Lightroom are supported for keyframing with a few exceptions:
  • The new LUT looks in LR CC Classic are supported, but of course you can not use different Looks on different keyframes. The look of the first keyframe will get populated to the whole sequence, from 5.0.9 on you can animate the strength of the look.
  • Custom Point Curves are not supported, please use the parametric tone curve instead (however you can use a point curve on the first frame and it will be migrated to all others, you just cannot animate the point curve.)
  • Four gradient filters are supported, they get created by LRTimelapse and appear as "dots" when hitting "M" on any initialized image. Please use those gradients and edit them because other newly created gradients will not be animated. Please do not delete any of those gradients don't add any new gradient filters!
  • Two Circular gradients are supported (since LR5), they will as well be created when initializing. The same said for the linear gradients apply here.
  • Clone Stamp, Paint Brush and Filter Brush are only supported on the very first image, those settings will be synced automatically to all other images by LRT. For Paint Brush and Filter Brush, you can animate the Sliders on the other keyframes too, but not the positions and shapes.
  • If you use Brushes, please make sure to make the shapes not too complex because only a certain amount of data can be stored into the XMP files. If you brush too much, this will fail to get stored.
  • "Upright" Perspective Correction is not supported and will not be animated, the settings of the first keyframe will get populated to the whole sequence.
  • Don't use the B+W for Black and White conversion, please use desaturation combined with HSL (if you want) instead.
  • Although it works in LRT, I do not recommend to animate the crop to make any ken-burns effects in LRTimelapse. Learn more here: http://forum.lrtimelapse.com/Thread-ken-burns-crop-animation-pan-zoom-with-lrtimelapse
  • If you have big changes in brightness from one image to another (for example people passing directly in front of the camera, headlamps shining in a scene from time to time etc), Lightroom might apply the same develop settings in a different way to those images, introducing a changes in contrast that are hard to remove by deflickering. In those cases please avoid using the non-linear tools in Lightroom: Clarity, Dehaze, Whites, Blacks - use the parametric tone curve instead, here is a blog post about that: http://lrtimelapse.com/news/use-the-new-dehaze-with-care-on-time-lapses/
  • Avoid third party plugins, since you don't usually know, if they are using any of the unsupported tools!
    Please see my post about custom presets too:
    http://forum.lrtimelapse.com/Thread-may-i-use-custom-presets-when-editing-keyframes-in-lightroom



RE: What Development Tools can I safely use in Lightroom / ACR? - usmaan - 2013-11-10

Hey Gunther

About the 3 gradient filters that are supported - for some reason, when I hit 'M' on an initialized image, only 2 gradient filter buttons show up. Any idea why?

Also, if we physically move around the filters on the image, is that alright? LRTimelapse will still be able to animate them across the sequence?

Thanks!


RE: What Development Tools can I safely use in Lightroom / ACR? - gwegner - 2013-11-10

Sure, moving, rotating etc. is all fine. I assume you have set a crop and maybe don't see the lower gradient because of that. Try removing the crop, then drag the lower gradient more to the center.


RE: What Development Tools can I safely use in Lightroom / ACR? - grantkaye - 2013-11-20

Gunther -

I have a question regarding the graduated filters "exposure" setting. LRT only accepts values of -1 to +1. How does this translate to the slider settings in LR5 of -4 to plus 4? for example, I have a sequence with 110 shots. For the first one I want the grad filter to have an exposure value of -1.68,however LRT shows the value as -0.421 for the first frame where in LR it is set to -1.68. Is there a conversion factor?

Thanks.

(2013-11-10, 14:44)gwegner Wrote: Sure, moving, rotating etc. is all fine. I assume you have set a crop and maybe don't see the lower gradient because of that. Try removing the crop, then drag the lower gradient more to the center.



RE: What Development Tools can I safely use in Lightroom / ACR? - gwegner - 2013-11-20

Yes, for the filters there is a range of -1 to 1 that gets scaled to -4 to +4. Don't ask me, why adobe decided to do like that...


RE: What Development Tools can I safely use in Lightroom / ACR? - kaigradert - 2014-02-24

Fantastic. Exactly the information I was looking for. Thanks.


RE: What Development Tools can I safely use in Lightroom / ACR? - Seafunks - 2015-07-26

Hi Gunther,

If it isn't possible to animate shapes and positions of filter brushes, how do you edit or seperate fore- and background when using a dolly? For Example an illuminated tree in front of the milkyway. Are those shots only edited frame by frame or how do you automize this process?


RE: What Development Tools can I safely use in Lightroom / ACR? - gwegner - 2015-07-27

You can animate the position of the graduated or circular filter that holds the filterbrush, that works - but not the shape or position of the brush inside the filter or a single brush.


RE: What Development Tools can I safely use in Lightroom / ACR? - Seafunks - 2015-07-27

Okay perfect, I'll try this out! Thanks Gunther!


RE: Which development tools can I safely use in Lightroom / ACR? - JWilliams - 2019-08-10

"You can animate the position of the graduated or circular filter that holds the filterbrush, that works - but not the shape or position of the brush inside the filter or a single brush."

Does this mean if I edit a circular filter using the Erase Brush the effect will move with the filter when animated across the screen? I'm trying to darken certain areas of the Milky Way and have those edited areas track the MW.