• 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Complete noob looking for help

#1 uni_student
Hello all,

I am working on a long term time lapse shoot and would like some feedback from anyone willing to help. I am completely new to photography, and especially time lapse.

I am trying to setup a camera that would take pictures over a prolonged periods of time (days to maybe weeks). I am trying to observe the turbulence effect in the atmosphere above ground that is caused by the temperature differential (basically the mirage effect). There will eventually be a target at a certain distance (~1-2 km), as well as a reference target closer to the camera setup.

I am working with a Nikon D5200, 64GB sd card, Sigma DG 120-400mm lens, an external intervalometer and an external power source capable of lasting for the appropriate amount of time, as well as camera enclosure/protection from the elements. The picture interval will be 10-20 minutes (still need figure out what is more appropriate).

As I mentioned earlier, I know very little about photography, so I need help figuring out what settings to use for this kind of time lapse project. I am aware that I must use the manual mode, but what values will give me the best result?

Is there anything else I should be aware of?

Thank you all in advance.
#2 uni_student
30+ views, but no help.

Anyway, I've set the camera to aperture priority and set the ISO to a low value to reduce the digital noise.
I've been running another sequence over the weekend, inside looking at mountains, but still haven't had the chance to retrieve the data.

I may post a video once I have the chance to download the pictures.
#3 sitzsack
Dear Uni-Student,
I am planning on something very comparable but with a longer lasting setup. Can you advise on what intervalometer you used, how you did the power supply and other details? How about the camera housing? Pelicase?