• 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Help! How to move images from lr to lr timelapse?

#1 doogle
Hi,

I'm new to the forum and need some help! I'm a professional cameraman and would love to use lr timelapse but having some problems.

Editing the images in lightroom as described in the tutorial is fine - but then I am confused how to get the edited photos into lr timelapse and then back into lightroom. From my understanding lightroom is non destructive so when I import my images into lr timelapse from a folder on my hd, they are the originals and do not contain my lightroom changes.

Please help!

Thanks, Doogle
#2 Gunther
When you use the described the workflow, you save your Lightroom editings to XMP metadata. LRTimelapse only works on that metadata and changes it. Back in Lightroom you load the changed metadata, that will apply changed development settings to your images. Basically this is the idea how it works. Please look at the tutorials and try to follow the workflow

Subscribe to: LRTimelapse Newsletter, Youtube Channel, Instagram, Facebook.
#3 doogle
Hi,

Thanks for replying. I understand the principal but I'm afraid I don't understand how to do it practically. How do you save to xmp data and where does lightroom save these files? Could you lead me through step by step of where you save your lightroom files and how you save xmp data.

I have watched your tutorials several times but am still confused as to where lightroom actually saves the metadata and how you import this into lr timelaspse. Do i need to export from lightroom as jpegs?

I'm a good photographer and cameraman but computers are not my strong point so please explain like you would to a child!

Thanks very much, Doogle
#4 doogle
Hi Gwegner,

Just to clarify, here's what I've been doing - maybe you can work out what I'm doing wrong.

1. I import a folder of images from my desktop into lightroom. I choose the Add option (add photos to catalog without moving them).