• 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

LRT problem with calculating Deflicker values

#1 MotionOfMotion
Hi bro

I'm a semi pro photographer and also a timelapse geek ! I wasn't using LRT since last week my friend made me to test it . I know it is a pro software but I have some serious problems with it . In short "The flicker is not Deflickred !"

the problem is with the deFlicker . I think it's a bug , but not sure . here I have a sequence which is taken by canon 6D at AV priority mode , and I did some manual Expo compensations between shots . here you can see the preview

[Image: http://www.xum.ir/images/2014/04/09/step-1.jpg]

you can see it extremely suffers from Flicker . I know the techniques to avoid flicker in the field , but you know some times it's all you can do .

so I did the LRT Deflicker WorkFlow tab , Step by Step . then I clicked the Deflicker button and set the slider to it's maximum . you can see the red & blue curves .

[Image: http://www.xum.ir/images/2014/04/09/step-2.jpg]

and here is the Deflicker curve while "constant" is selected

[Image: http://www.xum.ir/images/2014/04/09/step-3.jpg]

the problem is Deflicker is not working ! I mean My sequence is not Deflickerd even a bit ! but I noticed Something that might be a bug in calculations done by Deflicker process .

the problem is , Deflicker doesn't apply correct values to normalize the expo curve . Just look closely to 3rd image . the expo is set to constant so the LRT Deflicker should calculate each shot expo and add (minus) a value to each frame to equalize the expo . so as a math point of view , this is and add curve . I mean the Blue curve is being Added to a reversed Blue curve (red curve) to meet the final desires expo . So there should be No deformation vertically or horizontally in red curve compared to a reversed blue curve .