• 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
#1 Nicom
Gunther

I am new to Time Lapse, working on a couple of projects, your program and workflow guide are excellent and a lifesaver! I have made a donation.

For the films I am making, I have shot on Canon 5DMKII, all are full size RAW files. I need to have best possible quality output for the movie. I am using LR4 beta and your current LRT 1.6.1 release.

I am pretty happy with my first attempt, and having looked through forum am going to redo using exposure slider rather than others plus a little more deflicker

If you have the time, I have a few questions:

1. Should I keep working with full size RAW files? Is it a waste of disk space and process time? the movie export time in LR is very long (and the preview generation). I don't really mind the time, but if it is overkill, how would I reduce their size before LR or inside it?- without impacting on eventual quality ?

2. Having exported video with one of your presets 12fps and 1080@24 LRT Pro(full HD). I want to slow the film down (and in places vary speed), what would be the best step and program in workflow to do that (sorry if its an obvious question, but I am learning step by step). As it is, even at half time in QTPro it is a bit fast for me.

3. In truth I was guessing at the best presets. I want max quality possible. Would it be possible to have an even lower fps preset (8 or 10). For the pieces i am doing, I want a slow transition - or should I do that somehow in post processing? Also eventually one format it may be projected in is via 1st gen Apple TV and HD projector. I think the Apple TV does 1280 x 720, would I be best to make a new Video preset for that...and if so is there a link to how to do the above.

Thanks in advance for your patience and for your generous sharing of knowledge!

Nic

#2 Gunther
Hi Nick,
Quote:I am new to Time Lapse, working on a couple of projects, your program and workflow guide are excellent and a lifesaver! I have made a donation.