• 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Oscillating exposures

#1 natfrey
Hello. When shooting a timelapse, quite often exposure values swing up and down with my Nikon D810 and D850, appearing in the LRTimeplapse visual luminosity column as values ranging from around .01 to .02. Both cameras often do it at shutter speeds from 1/160 and slower, never at faster speeds. Please see attached screenshots, it's really strange. I'm wondering if this happens to anyone else. LRTimlapse seems to take care of it with deflicker, but I'm not a pro so not sure if my mind is tricking me! The final renditions look great, but it seems the pros online often spot sneaky flickering. For this small range of flickering, is this well within the range of what LRTimlapse can handle? I love these workhorse cameras, want to keep using them.
Attached Files
Thumbnail(s)

#2 Gunther
Generally deflicker is exactly for this: remove flicker that cameras might be introducing to mechanical inconsistencies for example in the lenses aperture or the shutter.

But in your case, that's a really strange pattern of flicker, even for aperture flicker, since it's all over and very uniformly. An it happens with both of your cameras, which is strange. Is this both with the same Lens maybe? If so, try to use another lens and see if you still experience it. Also try shooting a sequence with aperture wide open to eliminate the reason "aperture flicker". This would be the most common reason.

Also, I'd recommend that you set a flat profile in the camera, best would be "Flat" or "Standard" and no additional edits which would be applied to the preview image (responsible for the blue curve).

Generally this kind of Flicker is no problem at all for LRTimelapse to reomve via Deflicker. But still it would be interesting to know, what is causing it, therefore I would recommend to try narrowing down the reasons to see where if comes from.

Please let me know what you find out, it really interests me!