• 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Export timelapse for long term archival

#1 lennartb
Hello,

I'm relatively new to time-lapse photography and have successfully exported a few taken in my backyard.

For a project taken over a long period of time, I'm planning to create a time-lapse video, delete the raw files, and assemble and color grade them potentially years later.

Obviously, deleting the raw files is giving up a lot flexibility.
(1) Therefore I was wondering if anyone has a good workflow for making something like an archival master video clip, that will still hold up in editing months to years down the line.
(2) Would this be a use case to convert all my ARW files (from my Sony Alpha) to DNGs?
(3) Or if I should just buy storage every time my hard drive fills up.

I hope that makes sense, I'd be more than happy to elaborate further.

Thank you,
(and thank you Gunther for LRTimelapse)

Lennart
(a fellow Hamburger Jung)
#2 Gunther
Hi Lennart,
I can only recommend to keep the original raw files. Storage is cheap, they will deliver the best quality and get even better over time with better raw converters.
Is extremely unlikely that they will not be supported in the future and should they eventually get unsupported you still will have time to convert in another format.
I would not convert to DNG because they slow down the workflow (Conversion takes time plus metadata reading/writing is slower).
That's what I do and recommend.
Subscribe to: LRTimelapse Newsletter, Youtube Channel, Instagram, Facebook.
#3 timestretcher
The thing about an “archival master video clip” is that to fulfill that requirement, it must retain quality for future editing. Most end-user codecs like H.264 are highly compressed that quality is not optimal for use as a source file for further editing.