• 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
#1 johnbedwards@comcast.net
Hi Gunther,

I have been shooting time lapse sequences for many years using DSLRTimelapse software with a camera-connected WIFI transmitter. I recently purchased a Nikon Z8 and thought I would try using the camera's WIFI. At first it seemed to work well. But I have noticed that my DSLRTimelapse sometimes loses the WIFI connection on occasion after 20 or so minutes and I also recently experienced my camera shooting a shot every 2 seconds (as programmed) and then about 0.1 seconds later.

What I tried:

1. Turned off my iPhone WIFI to avoid the WIFI signal jumping to my iPhone. Not sure if this was silly, but I noticed one time that my iPhone became connected to the Nikon WIFI while shooting a timelapse.

2. I made sure there was a signficant interval between photo's (e.g., 2.5 - 3 seconds, with photo's being taken at 1/10th to 1/60th of a second).

3. Made sure DSLRTimelapse has the Android screen stay on (and that has never been an issue).

I am shooting RAW only (not RAW plus JPEG), so wondering if that could be causing an issue?

Have you heard of these issues. Maybe Nikon WIFI is just not ready for prime time with respect to DSLRTimelapse and I should go back to what has worked for many years?

Thanks,

John
#2 Gunther
What is DSLRTimelapse? Or are you talking about qDslrDashboard?
I use qDslrDashboard with the Z 8 via Wifi without any problems. Make sure you have the very latest version of the app installed.
Set the camera to S (single shot mode) to avoid double releases. Also use an external interval timer, like the LRT PRO Timer, if you can.
Subscribe to: LRTimelapse Newsletter, Youtube Channel, Instagram, Facebook.
#3 johnbedwards@comcast.net
Thanks. Yes, I should have said qDslrDashboard (not DSLRTimelapse). I use your LRT PRO timer (which I love). I will check, but thought I was on single shot mode. Glad to hear you do not have any issues. What is the minimum interval between shots that you use?
#4 Gunther