• 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Sundown to Polar Light

#1 kukro
So here is my first contribution, although I've been doing timelapses using LRTimelapse since several years now.
I was in northern Norway (just south of Kirkenes) in March for a Polar Light journey and captured this day-to-night timelapse. Unfortunately, at around -20 °C, one after the other first my smartphone lost its power, resulting in QDSLR-Dashboard not running and readjusting the camera exposure any more, and then, about half an hour after I had manually adjusted the exposure gradually until the light didn't change any more and made sure the camera still had around 50% battery capacity, the capacity suddenly dropped to zero and the camera stopped completely. I found out about 45 minutes later, when the polar light was already brightly shining and could then capture a timelapse of the polar light with a new battery.
LRTimelapse did a great job in saving the first part, where the exposure was not any longer readjusted, many thanks for this amazing software, Gunther!
The Polar Light timelapse, however, was not processed with LRTimelapse. I used (as for this complete video) Aquasoft Stages, since with 2 pictures per second (in order not to accelerate too much) the motion blur in LRTimelapse didn't give as smooth a cross fading as the fading effect of the slide show program (at least to my taste). As stated in the video (in german), I took pictures of the polar light with 2 sec. exposure time and 2.5 sec. intervals, so the acceleration is by a factor of 5, making the movement of the polar light better visable without changing too much the live effect you experience visually.
I hope you enjoy!

https://vimeo.com/825067451?share=copy

Comments welcome!

Kurt
Viele Grüße,
Kurt
#2 Gunther