• 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Holy Grail - Bump ISO?

#1 richparry
I've been shooting night sky timelapse video with Canon 5D Mark II and 24mm f/1.4 prime lens in manual mode for more than a year, but always after dark with constant exposure dark night sky.

I thought I would try the Holy Grail of TL and shoot from dusk to night with the intention of changing the ISO a few times during the shooting period. This is the technique I read about on this forum. I thought I would start at ISO 100 and increase to 3200 during the shooting period. But I found when I started shooting at dusk, that with ISO 100, I had too much light shooting at f/2.8, f/1.4 was even worse.

For the dusk portion of the TL, I could add an ND filter but then I would have to adjust the ND filter and the ISO during the shooting period.

It seems to me the dusk to night dynamic range is so huge, that just changing the ISO isn't sufficient. I believe I would have to change the ND filter several times and the ISO several times for proper exposure and that's a lot of work and a lot can go wrong. I don't mind the work, but I can't help but think I am missing something.

Do I really have to change both an ND filter and ISO setting multiple times during a Holy Grail shoot? Can I really get away with just adjusting the ISO?

thanks,
Rich
Canon user: 5DM3, 5DM2, Rhino Slider (24" & 42"), Emotimo TB3. Use Adobe ACR and AE.
#2 Gunther
Hi Rich! Just start adjusting Exposure Time in 1EV steps, than if it's long enough switch over to ISO!
Subscribe to: LRTimelapse Newsletter, Youtube Channel, Instagram, Facebook.
#3 Marcus
Rich,

I just started to experiment with this a few weeks ago and ran into the same issues. Here's what so far seems to have solved it for me: