• 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

New compact camera ?

#1 npaisnel
At the moment I use a Canon 5D MkII with qDSLR running on a Peppermint linux laptop..

All great but a bit bulky for every day carry once I add my 24 hour made in Dewalt power tool box" power supply

I also use a 10MP Olympus ZX-1 with external intervalometer..and manually adjust the exposure for Holy Grail.

But I'd like to 'modernise' my compact system, to run qDSLR on some Android table and some ultra compact type zoom non changeable lens camera like the Sony RX100V

But i have no idea what to choose..what will be compatible with WiFi / Blue tooth connection to an Android tablet running qDSLR

So, what are my options for Camera and tablet? need to be small camera..like the ZX-1 or RV100

I want small camera as I fly for a living so need it to be able to fit my flight bag, Big SLR sized cameras are out.

Look froward to your idea
#2 Gunther
I don't know about any compact camera that is supported by qDdslrDashboard. I think the lightest and smallest option might be a Nikon D5x00 with a light lens. Also most compact cameras don't allow for external intervalometers. In my opinion compact cameras are not well suited for timelapse photography because of their limitations.
Subscribe to: LRTimelapse Newsletter, Youtube Channel, Instagram, Facebook.
#3 npaisnel
The Olympus ZX-1 does the external intervalometer, shoots RAW, f1.8 at but no WiFi or Bluetooth connection.
I have an upcoming trip to Nepal and anything as big as an SLR even the Nikon you mention is way too big.

Will just keep searching.
#4 Gunther
I also travel a lot. At the end you will regret not taking a "real" camera, even if the compact ones promise a lot, the results will mostly disappoint if the sensor is smaller than APS-C. Mostly their raw files will lack dynamic range for editing. Personally, I'd rather leave clothes at home than not bring a decent camera on such a trip. :-) But that's your decision, of course...
#5 npaisnel