• 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Trouble reading metadata in LR5

#1 mbrakes
Hi, I am a fairly newbie user working on post for my first holy grail project. For background; I have assembled a more straightforward daylight timelapse earlier, so been through a simplified version of the workflow with success. But I am now having trouble getting LR5 to read the metadata from the files after the first initial steps in LRTimelapse. The main difference being that earlier I was using .jpgs and now I'm using .DNGs.

After I have saved the first steps in LRTimelapse and want to go into LR5 to edit keyframes, I don't get the option to "Read metadata from files" - it's greyed out and my only option is to "Update DNG previews & metadata". I tried that, but it takes forever and nothing happens to the previews (not sure if those should change?), and I don't get any star ratings indicating keyframes that should be edited.

I tried to open the files in Bridge just to check, and there the 16:9 crop and star ratings are clearly visible, but it seems like LR5 can't "see" the changes. I have even tried to sync the folder containing the DNG's but it doesn't make a difference.

What am I missing - please...?
#2 Gunther
The DNG Workflow works exactly like any other workflow. Please make sure that you are in Grid View (Library) when making the metadata operations.
See this faq thread as well:
http://forum.lrtimelapse.com/Thread-meta...ng-applied
Subscribe to: LRTimelapse Newsletter, Youtube Channel, Instagram, Facebook.
#3 mbrakes
Thanks a lot for your quick reply Gunther!

I have read the documentation and checked and double-checked and then got the idea to try with the original Canon .CR2 raw files that got converted into .DNGs (I thought this might have some benefits like slightly smaller file size, no need for sidecar files and embedded previews that would reflect adjustments.)