• 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Controlling the Dashboard

#1 soulofwit
Gunther-

I'm a new fan. I just love your videos.

I'm an LA based photographer, and I'm getting into time-lapse obsessively. As such, I have a question about your holy grail technique with DslrDashboard. By the way, I'm excited to see what your new partnership with the developer will reveal! Exciting things, I'm sure.

It seems that what you get from a Bulb ramping device (like Promote Control) is very small and smooth increments of transitions (though we've agreed it's expensive, and though automated, is not the best quality result because it can't take into account external factors). And I understand that LRTimelapse does the smoothing work for you in post. But I imagine that "getting it right" in camera is the best way to get to get the best results to help the LRT holygrail conform. Ie, no sloppy mistakes.

My question:

Do you assign different priorities to shutter speed, Fstop, or ISO? By that I mean, when you're standing by the camera, and you're ready to go up 1/3 stop, how do you prioritize which setting to adjust? I'm looking to go from full daylight to milky way. 1/100th, f16, 100 ISO all the way to 30 seconds, f2, ISO 3200. Do you use shutter speed first, then go to f stop, then to ISO, as far as priority?

I know all depends on where on the planet you are as to how fast the exposure changes occur, but I'm wondering if you can offer insight into where you make each kind of adjustment adjustments, shutter speed, Fstop, ISO vis a vis how dark it's getting.

Thanks so much!

-Giorgio
#2 Gunther
Thank you for the compliment, much appreciated.
Doing it "right" for the holy grail is just not possible, you will have to edit either way - Whitebalance, the correct luminosity transition etc... Levelng the 1/3 steps is not a problem with LRT. But this method gives you all the control that you need (an the Bulb raming devices mostly lack).